Office 365 Autosave

Office 365 AutoSave Function

If you are on Office 365, there is an update coming your way. AutoSave will be enabled by default. This is a mixed blessing.

If you are making changes and fail to hit the ‘save’ icon, then you risk losing your changes. It doesn’t happen often but when it does, it’s painful. So painful that Microsoft has chosen to save automatically. 

On the other hand, if you are making changes and plan on saving the document with a new name then the AutoSave is going to overwrite your current copy. The solution is to open the document and save it with the new name before making changes. 

The change will be released in September. Since we are in late September now, you may already have this in effect. 

This is a better way to operate. There may be a way to turn the option “off” but I wouldn’t do that.

“You’re about to get even more out of Office 365”

Below is the text from an email from Microsoft.

“We’re making an update to your subscription so you can share it with more people and they can use it on more devices.

With your current Office 365 Home subscription, up to five people can use Office on 10 devices total. Starting October 2, 2018, six people will be able to use the subscription instead of five. Each person will be able to install Office on all their devices and be signed into five at the same time. That means they can use Office no matter where they are or what device they’re on.
Each person will continue to get all the benefits, including premium versions of Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, plus 1 TB of OneDrive cloud storage and more.


If you have any questions, you can find more info here and in our updated terms and conditions.

Your Office 365 Home subscription will automatically update in 30 days, so you don’t need to do anything. You’re agreeing to this update by continuing your subscription.

Thanks for being an Office 365 customer.